Descript pricing in 2026
Descript's cheapest paid plan costs $16 per person per month on annual billing, read from descript.com/pricing on 23 August 2026.
Last checked
Descript's cheapest paid plan costs $16 per person per month on annual billing, read from descript.com/pricing on 23 August 2026. On monthly billing the same Hobbyist plan is $24 per person per month. The page lists three paid plans and states a 35% discount for annual payment.
The plans
| Plan | Price | Billing | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hobbyist | $16 per person per month | Annual rate | Lowest tier, watermark-free output |
| Hobbyist | $24 per person per month | Monthly rate | Lowest tier, watermark-free output |
| Creator | $24 per person per month | Annual rate | Mid tier |
| Creator | $35 per person per month | Monthly rate | Mid tier |
| Business | $50 per person per month | Annual rate | Top listed tier |
| Business | $65 per person per month | Monthly rate | Top listed tier |
The page does not publish a free plan. The Hobbyist tier is the entry point, and it produces output without a watermark.
What it works out to per video
The pricing page does not publish a render count, credit allowance, or export limit tied to any plan. Without a published per-plan output quota, a cost per video cannot be calculated from the page. The page does not state one.
What the price does not include
The page does not state a resolution ceiling, a language limit, a credit rollover policy, or a per-seat overage rate for any plan. It does state one exclusion clearly: the Hobbyist plan is the tier that outputs without a watermark, which implies watermarking is a constraint on lower or free access, though no free plan is listed on the page as of 23 August 2026. Seat-based pricing is explicit: the unit is per person per month, so a team pays the plan rate multiplied by its member count. Anything beyond that, including export caps and add-on costs, is not stated on the page.
Monthly or annual
The page states a 35% discount for annual payment. The listed rates confirm it:
| Plan | Annual rate | Monthly rate |
|---|---|---|
| Hobbyist | $16 | $24 |
| Creator | $24 | $35 |
| Business | $50 | $65 |
On every plan, the monthly rate exceeds the annual rate by more than the stated 35% would suggest at first glance, because the discount applies to the higher monthly figure. If you keep the tool for a full year, annual billing is the cheaper route on every plan. If you expect to stop within a few months, monthly billing limits the loss, because you pay only for the months you use.
How this compares
| Tool | Entry price | Unit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Descript | $16 per person per month | Annual rate, Hobbyist | descript.com/pricing, 23 Aug 2026 |
| Revid | $39 per month | Monthly rate, Hobby plan | revid.ai/pricing, 23 Aug 2026 |
| ViewMade | $29 per month | Monthly, Starter, 50 renders per month, $0.58 per short | viewmade.com/pricing, 22 Aug 2026 |
The three tools do different jobs. Descript edits around a recording you already have and gives the most editing control of the tools in this comparison. Revid produces high-volume short-form output with generated visuals. ViewMade turns a topic into a finished vertical documentary using real archive footage, maps, and charts, and ships a media credit file naming the source of every clip. Descript is the cheapest entry point of the three on annual billing, but it assumes you bring your own footage.
<!-- faq -->Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest Descript plan in 2026?
Hobbyist at $16 per person per month on annual billing, or $24 per person per month on monthly billing, as listed on 23 August 2026.
Does Descript have a free plan?
The pricing page read on 23 August 2026 lists no free plan. The Hobbyist tier is the lowest listed option.
Does Descript charge per person?
Yes. The page prices every plan per person per month, so total cost scales with team size.
How much does annual billing save on Descript?
The page states 35%. On Hobbyist, that is $24 monthly versus $16 annual; on Creator, $35 versus $24; on Business, $65 versus $50.
Is Descript worth it?
If you already record audio or video and need the most control over editing around that recording, the Hobbyist plan at $16 per person per month is a low entry cost for that job. If you need a finished short produced from a topic, with footage sourced for you, Descript does not do that; a topic-to-video tool is the relevant category, and the pricing logic there is different. The honest answer depends on which of those two jobs you are paying for.
Prices read from Descript's own pricing page on 23 August 2026.