Tools and costs · 7 min read
The GPU cost behind an AI Short
In a direct HTTP fetch on 23 August 2026, 17 of the 23 measured price pages in the AI short-video category returned readable prices from server-side HTML, and
Published
In a direct HTTP fetch on 23 August 2026, 17 of the 23 measured price pages in the AI short-video category returned readable prices from server-side HTML, and 7 did not. This article answers a narrower question than the category usually does: what does an AI Short actually cost the customer, using only prices that were read directly from vendor pricing pages. Where a number was not measured, this article does not invent one.
The short answer
On 23 August 2026, entry plans across the readable pricing pages ranged from $10 to $149 per month: Fluxnote Rise at $10, Vicsee Starter at $15, Crayo Hobby at $13 monthly equivalent on annual billing, Klap Basic at $14 monthly equivalent on annual billing, Clippie Lite at $19.99, Revid Hobby at $39, and TubeGen Starter at $149. Subscription price alone tells you nothing about cost per Short, because plans sell different render quotas. The one vendor that publishes its own division is ViewMade: its Starter plan divides 50 renders into $29 per month, which works out to $0.58 per Short, measured on 22 August 2026.
What a price page actually charges for
Pricing pages in this category bill in three different units, and mixing them breaks any comparison.
The first unit is subscription: a fixed amount per month. The second unit is credits: a unit each vendor defines for itself, not equivalent across plans or vendors. Crayo's Hobby plan includes 50 credits and 40 minutes of export per month. Short.ai's Basic plan includes 1600 credits per month, and its own credit table states that a 30-second AI story video costs 20 credits. The third unit is minutes of published video: TubeGen publishes the real per-minute cost on its own pricing page, $2.47 per published minute on the Starter plan, calculated from median user credit spend divided by video length, measured 23 August 2026.
These three units cannot sit side by side in one table. Credit-for-credit comparisons fail because a credit buys different things at different vendors. The table below therefore lists only entry subscription prices, each read directly from the vendor's own pricing page without running JavaScript.
| Tool | Entry plan | Price | Measured |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fluxnote | Rise | $10/month | 2026-08-23 |
| Vicsee | Starter | $15/month | 2026-08-23 |
| Crayo | Hobby | $13/month equivalent, billed yearly | 2026-08-23 |
| Klap | Basic | $14/month equivalent, billed yearly | 2026-08-23 |
| Clippie | Lite | $19.99/month | 2026-08-23 |
| Revid | Hobby | $39/month | 2026-08-23 |
| TubeGen | Starter | $149/month | 2026-08-23 |
Two rows need caveats. Klap sells a different product: it clips a long upload into shorts rather than generating video, so its per-clip billing cannot be compared against per-video billing. And the credit-based plans in the wider set, such as Crayo's 50 credits against Short.ai's 1600, buy different amounts of output; the subscription row alone does not settle which produces a Short more cheaply.
Why some prices could not be measured
Of the 23 tools measured, 7 price pages could not be read, and this article writes no figure for them. The reasons come from the pages themselves.
Submagic's pricing page returned 5208 words from the server, but shows two columns per plan, a base plan and a MAGIC CLIPS variant, and which figure was monthly and which annual could not be distinguished in one pass. StoryShort's pricing page returned 4 words from the server. Its tier prices of $39, $69, $129 and $199 are known from another source, TrustMRR's Stripe API verified data dated 18 August 2026, not from the pricing page itself. Hooked's pricing page returned 776 words containing not a single price; the tiers arrive through JavaScript. Vizard's page renders every tier as $0 on the server because pricing depends on a slider computed client-side. Fliki's page returns tier names and credit counts but no dollar fields. AutoShorts and CapCut also returned too little server-side text to extract a price.
One pattern follows from this: hiding prices behind JavaScript makes a vendor unverifiable, not expensive. A comparison built on an unreadable price would rest on an unmeasured claim, and this article builds none.
Per-short cost: the only number that compares plans
A subscription price means nothing on its own, because two vendors at the same price sell different render quotas. Cost per Short is found by dividing the subscription by the quota, and that calculation is only valid when both numbers come from the same vendor's pricing page.
Most vendors do not publish this division. Their pages quote credits per month, and converting credits to videos requires a conversion rate that either changes by plan or is not stated. Faceless.so's page says video generation starts from 20 credits, but that alone does not yield a per-video figure across tiers. Vicsee publishes credit packs in its own table, from $5 for 100 credits to $900 for 90,000 credits, which prices the credit but not the finished Short. Fluxnote's page describes its video count as a fixed slot cap, which warns about overage behavior but does not state it.
The comparable line is the unit cost a vendor publishes about itself. On 22 August 2026, ViewMade's pricing page listed the Starter plan at $29 per month with 50 renders, $0.58 per Short, and the Pro plan at $59 per month with 150 renders, $0.20 per Short; billed yearly, Pro comes to $354 total, a $29.5 monthly equivalent. That page performs the division itself instead of leaving it to the reader.
What you should do with your own numbers: write down how many Shorts you will publish per month, find the render quota of the entry plan you are considering, divide, and compare the result to your actual publishing volume. If you exhaust the quota before the month ends, your effective cost rises beyond the quoted per-unit figure. If the month ends before the quota fills, you paid for renders you did not use, and a cheaper plan may have been the better deal.
What this does not tell you
This article did not measure GPU hours, inference costs, or any vendor's infrastructure spend. No vendor publishes that on a pricing page, and there is no data for it in the measurements behind this piece. It also did not measure quality: there is no data here comparing how Shorts from two vendors perform once published, so nothing in this article implies that a cheaper per-unit cost produces a worse or better video. All figures were collected in a single measurement window between 18 and 22 August 2026, and pricing pages change; these numbers carry no guarantee past that window. Finally, 7 of the 23 tools could not be priced at all, and this article draws no conclusion about whether they are cheap or expensive. An unverified price is not a high price.
<!-- faq -->Frequently asked questions
Why do credit-based plans make comparison hard? Because a credit is a unit each vendor defines for itself. At Crayo, 50 credits make up the entire Hobby plan quota. At Short.ai, a single 30-second AI story video costs 20 credits by the vendor's own table. Adding those two numbers together is like summing two currencies without an exchange rate. Comparison only works where a vendor states output directly, in videos or published minutes, such as TubeGen's published $2.47 per published minute.
Which plan in this category is cheapest to start? Among readable pricing pages on 23 August 2026, the lowest entry subscription was Fluxnote Rise at $10 per month, or $8.33 monthly equivalent billed yearly at $100 total. But the lowest entry price is not the lowest unit cost. Fluxnote's page calls its video count a fixed slot cap, and its overage behavior falls outside what was measured here. Cheapest to start and cheapest per Short are different questions.
Why does StoryShort appear with revenue data but no measured price? Its pricing page returned 4 words from the server, so no price was read there. The tier prices of $39, $69, $129 and $199 come from TrustMRR's Stripe API verified dataset dated 18 August 2026. That same source recorded $20,864 MRR and 370 active subscribers, averaging $56 per subscriber. These are two different datasets from two different sources and should not be merged into one claim about the product.
Does a higher subscription mean a higher cost per Short? No. On 22 August 2026, ViewMade's Starter plan gave 50 renders for $29, $0.58 per Short, while its Pro plan gave 150 renders for $59, $0.20 per Short. For a user who fills the quota, the more expensive plan delivers the lower unit cost. The decision depends on how many Shorts you produce per month, not on which headline price looks smaller.
What this is based on
- viewmade.com/pricing
- live HTML on 2026-08-22
- sample 3
- starterMonthlyUsd 29
- starterRendersPerMonth 50
- starterPerShortUsd 0.58
- ViewMade production job_costs.json snapshot on 2026-08-10
- sample 20
- meanUsd 0.18069
- medianUsd 0.185364
- minUsd 0.019548
Tools and costs
Related reading
- Tools and costs · 6 min read
AI generated video vs real clips
23 of the short-video tools we checked on 23 August 2026 produce or handle moving images, and exactly one of them draws its footage from real archive material.
- Tools and costs · 6 min read
The real AI video tool stack in 2026
On 23 August 2026 we fetched the pricing page of every competitor tool we track, with JavaScript turned off, and 17 of the 22 pages published a dollar amount a
- Tools and costs · 7 min read
API access across AI video tools
On 23 August 2026 we pulled the server-side HTML of 13 AI video tool homepages without executing JavaScript.
Stop researching. Start uploading.
ViewMade finds the topic, writes the script, sources real footage and delivers a finished video.
See what it makes